I was hoping that Fact Check Part 7 would be my last fact check post, but Patrick Murray decided to send out another email.

Part 7: The false mailer

I know some people got this following mailer over the weekend. Click on it for a larger image.

false mailer

One notion that is particular interesting is when Murray claims that Berry “supports” the flat out change of Don’t Ask, Don’t tell. However, Matthew Berry never said he supports the flat-out repeal of it. He said he supports the military review process and their recommendations.

He elaborated his position very clearly in the video that Murray is claiming this is from. Click here.

Part 8: “Gay Marriage”

In Murray’s latest email he sent this “questionnaire” out:

Politics Magazine: Do you personally have an opinion on gay marriage–for example

in Virginia?

Matthew Berry: “I think people should be free to enter into whatever types of relationships they would like. If it were up to me, the state would permit same sex marriage.”

However, that’s not what happened in the interview. Here’s what the actual interview said,

Politics Magazine: Do you personally have an opinion on gay marriage—for example in Virginia?

MB: My position is the same as former Vice President Cheney’s. I think people should be free to enter into whatever types of relationships they would like. If it were up to me, the state would permit same sex marriage. I respect people who have a different view on that, and I think that should be fought state-by-state by the democratic process.”

Back when he was complaining about the straw poll, Murray said that Republicans should set “higher standards.”  Yet when unemployment is at an all-time high, and when international crises are flaring all over the globe, Patrick wants to talk about . . . gay marriage.  It was as predictable as it is pathetic.

—-

After all this transpired, Berry sent out a point-by-point response to Murray’s mailer. You can read it after the “flip”

Friends,

Throughout this race, I have attempted to run a positive issues-oriented campaign because I think that this is the type of campaign that you deserve. Unfortunately, my opponent, having fallen behind in the race, has decided to take the opposite tack and has sent out a mailing and e-mails repeatedly lying about and mis-characterizing my positions on the issues.

While some have advised me that the best strategy is not to respond to these lies and distortions, I think that you deserve to know the truth before you cast your vote tomorrow.

Abortion – I am pro-life and have the same position on the issue as the last three Republican Presidents. My opponent, on the other hand, told RedState.com in February that he was pro-choice and that he “believes that women should have the right to control what happens to their bodies.” While I respect the views of those who disagree with me on abortion, I have been consistently pro-life since I was in high school.

Budget Deficit – The suggestion that I believe we can wait 15-20 years to get spending under control is laughable. Since the beginning of my campaign, I have stressed restoring fiscal responsibility to Washington as my number one issue. I am the only candidate in the race that has actually set forth a concrete plan to reduce the budget deficit, which you can find here.

Transportation – Unlike my opponent, I have set forth a detailed plan to improve transportation in Northern Virginia, which you can find here.

Gay Marriage – Like my opponent, I believe that marriage is a state issue and that each state should determine its own marriage laws. Any suggestion that I, as a Congressman, would seek to force Virginia to sanction or recognize same-sex marriages is completely false.

Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell – Like my opponent, I support the military’s review of Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell. I also oppose any change in the policy until that review is complete.

Conservatism – I am a committed conservative. I have spent my career seeking to advance conservative principles, whether I was clerking for U.S. Supreme Court Justice Clarence Thomas, fighting for school choice, or working on counter-terrorism policy in the Bush Administration. I have volunteered for numerous Republican campaigns, including those of President George W. Bush and Governor Bob McDonnell. Any suggestion to the contrary, based on an inaccurate quote from an extremely liberal newspaper, is completely false.

All the best,

Matthew Berry