Got this in my inbox today from FCRC.  Its a long and lengthy response to the recent chatter about Mychele Brickner. It’s a pretty good email and an appropriate response. I bolded some interesting portions of the email. What are peoples’ thoughts on this email?

Team Fairfax:

As you know, beginning in December 2008, we began making some changes and improvements to the FCRC. In 2009 we had to implement these changes while simultaneously having back to back special elections, a state convention, and a Fall election. In an effort to have some continuity during a long election year, many of the changes that needed to be made were still not complete. With input from many FCRC members, I have determined that now is the time to complete the changes I believe will make us a stronger organization.

During my recent re-election campaign, I explained that while we have had some success as an organization, we were still not where we needed to be and more changes were on the way. I believe I laid out a clear vision for the next two years and I explained why I believed these changes will help us finally achieve our shared vision of becoming a high-performance organization capable of supporting all our candidates and winning elections every year.

Over the last few months, I have worked closely with a diverse group of FCRC activists as we continue the process of making changes to the Committee. I am looking forward to our May 4th FCRC meeting at Robinson High School, where we will be announcing the new leadership team and I will be briefing all our members on how we will begin to implement our vision for a high-performing FCRC.

Some of the proposed changes have made their way into the FCRC community and blogosphere. A lot has been said about these changes, but I want to make one thing clear – these changes are comprehensive. They are countywide. They are not focused on one area of the county or one portion of the FCRC.

I firmly believe that once all of the changes have been announced and explained in more detail, this vision for the long-term success of the FCRC will become crystal clear. You elected me to focus not only on the 2010 races, but beyond to 2011 and 2012 and that’s exactly what we are doing.

It is unfortunate that the changes we are making to the Committee have coincided with a competitive primary in the 11th District. Emotions are running high, and it is not surprising that a handful of people believe the changes are somehow related to the primary. I want to assure you that none – not one – of the changes we are making has been motivated even in part by the 11th District primary.

All of the changes have been in progress for over six months, long before the primary became competitive or I endorsed any candidate. What you are reading about or hearing about as to why I am making changes is simply not true. I want to personally assure you that internal party politics, endorsements, personalities, and other non-substantive factors have nothing to do with any of the changes we are making to the Committee. Period.

I am focused on us winning EVERY race and would not make any changes just to support one candidate over another. That would be stupid. What we are doing in Fairfax County is more important than to let petty politics trump the practical changes that need to be made to ensure our future as a viable and competitive Party in Fairfax.

I think we should all pause to remember where we were just 14 months ago after President Obama was elected, and how far we have come together since that time. But we are still not even close to where we can be as a Party organization. I am convinced this new leadership team, and the implementation of the strategic plan will carry us to victory not only in 2010, but 2011, 2012, and beyond.

We will be announcing all of the changes at the May 4th meeting. Until then, I ask that you please reserve judgment. After the meeting I look forward to hearing feedback from everyone once the entire plan has been rolled out and the new leadership team has been announced.

Change is always difficult. It is very easy to get upset when change seems to appear out of nowhere. But these changes have a purpose – they are designed to ensure a bright future for the Committee, our candidates, and our goal of electing good Republicans across Fairfax County for many years to come.

As always, thank you for your time and for your dedication to the FCRC. Please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions, comments or concerns.

I look forward to seeing you at the May 4th meeting.

Anthony Bedell
Chairman
anthonybedell@msn.com