On the vote to end debate on the Porculus (cloture), the Pork Larders prevailed, 62-35.

A “no” vote would have kept debate going; so that’s what was the fiscally responsible position.

Democrats voting “no” with the vast majority of Republicans:
Evan Bayh (IN)
Russ Feingold (WI)
Claire McCaskill (MO)

Republicans voting “yes” with the vast majority of Democrats:
Lamar Alexander (TN)
Kit Bond (MO)
Thad Cochran (MS)
Lisa Murkowski (AK)
Richard Shelby (AL)
Olympia Snowe (ME)
Arlen Specter (PA)
Roger Wicker (MS)

The vote demonstrates once again that there are 3 parties in Washington–Republicans, Democrats, and Appropriators.

All Republican “yes” votes were from Appropriators, save Olympia Snowe. Can’t explain that one.

Props to the 3 Democrats, although it was a free pass with so many Republicans defecting.

And props to the Republicans who serve on the Appropriations Committee, but managed to remember that they wouldn’t serve on Appropriations if Republicans had not elected them to the Senate–Mitch McConnell (KY), Judd Gregg (NH), Robert Bennett (UT), Kay Bailey Hutchison (TX), Sam Brownback (KS), Susan Collins (ME), and George Voinovich (OH).