The following was went to supporters at 1:30 AM:

Dear Friends,

I’ve been overwhelmed by all of your support and prayers over the last few weeks. This campaign for the House of Delegates has been a great experience for me, Katie and Ella. We’ve met so many great neighbors throughout our legislative district.

As you may have seen, the vote total is very close-a mere 16 votes separate me from my opponent, less than one percent of all votes cast. Election officials are still meeting to finalize the results and review the preliminary reports from precincts. Because of this, we’re looking closely at their work and comparing it to the observations of the volunteers we had at each polling location. Pending this review, we may consider requesting a recount.

I will keep you posted on the outcome of the race, but no matter how it turns out, I will continue to be so grateful for the experience and for the friendship you have all shown me and my family.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Joe